## **Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association**

#### MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON 21 JANUARY 2019 AT ACCRUENT CORPORATION, THE DOMAIN, AUSTIN, TX

The Meeting was called to order at 7:07pm by Bruce Clark, the Chair and President of the Association. During his opening remarks, the Chair emphasized the level of involvement of Association officials this season, outlining the need to focus on Rules and Mechanics, competency at working both Schools and Youth, and participation in Association affairs. Concerning the latter, the Chair announced the appointment of Chris Knight as an Ombudsman for the Association, with responsibilities including a review of Association By-Laws and operating procedures, and a resource for Members with concerns.

The minutes of the December (2018) meeting having been made available to the Membership prior to the meeting, it was moved (Daniel Arata) and seconded to approve the minutes as presented; the motion passed by voice vote.

The Chair called upon Andrew Windler, Treasurer, for his report; Mr. Windler reminded Members that the meeting was the deadline for dues payment, and that arrangements could be made with Members not yet paid.

The Chair requested that David Emerick, Youth Coordinator, update the Members. Mr. Emerick outlined a possible Mentorship program with further discussion of the Youth training program later in the program.

Executive Secretary Ken Singer, upon being recognized by the Chair, reminded Members to maintain correct information in Arbiter, and to confirm their visibility in Arbiter. He informed the Members that assignments have started and would be continuing; notable dates include the SPC tournament in Dallas this season and returning to Austin in 2020, and District playoffs the last weekend in April, Regional playoffs the 1<sup>st</sup> weekend in May and State playoffs the following weekend. Mr. Singer notified Members that THSLL did not adopt the 2019 NCAA Rules changes, and that School/Youth games would be played under 2018 Rules. Concerning Mechanics, members should begin enforcing the 20-second timing Rule after penalty reporting, the visual/verbal possession reset signals, and the need for timely game reports and team conduct reports. He also discussed radio procedures – earpieces, crew agreement, and limited conversation.

## **Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association**

Adam Curtis, Youth Assignor, informed members that games would begin the 1<sup>st</sup> weekend in March, and that members should inform him of their availability for Sunday games.

After brief closing remarks, the Chair entertained a motion to adjourn (Mr. Denebeim); the motion carried by voice vote and the Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:24pm

Ken Singer Executive Secretary

Attendees are appended below

#### **ATTENDEES**

Van Craig Abbott Daniel Arata Martin Arata Joe Berkel Gene Brown

Russ Bowen Donald Bull Don Carnes Rob Chambers Bruce Clark

Adam Curtis Keith Denebeim Miguel Duron David Emerick Chris Esparza

Scott Fairbairn Angel Gonzales Richard Hunt Oliver Ingels

Mike Jackson

Rodney Meyer Jeff Morrison Rud Nast Bob Novak Dan Page

Dan Pepper Taylor Pepper Stephen Powell Paul Policke Morgan Reece

Rick Reyna Rick Schindel Ken Singer Michael Snow Jeff Truscott

Jared Valdez Brian Vanderglas A J Williams Andrew Windler

# **Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association**

Jason Johnson Chris Knight David Lutz Chris Mele