Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association



MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON 25 NOVEMBER 2019 AT TERRAZA PUBLIC LIBRARY, AUSTIN, TX

The Meeting was called to order at 7:05pm by Bruce Clark, the Chair and President of the Association. After opening remarks, it was moved (Andrew Windler) and seconded to approve the June minutes as presented; the motion passed by voice vote. Afterwards, the Chair reminded all to review the Policies and Procedures of the Association as posted on the Chapter website.

The Chair called upon Chris Knight for his report on By-Law revisions. After a discussion of the proposed changes, Mr. Knight moved (and seconded) to approve the revisions as presented; the motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

The Chair asked Ken Singer, Executive Secretary, for his report. Mr. Singer updated the Membership on the UT Tournament, requested that all Members update their Profile on Arbiter (including home and work addresses, and a professional picture), and informed the meeting that Wednesdays and Saturdays will be the busy days for scheduling and that coaches email addresses (for game confirmation by the crew chief) are on the Association website.

The Chair introduced Jess Rest, Central Texas D1 High School Coordinator, to the Membership. Ms. Rest discussed the new High School contract with THSLL (3-year term) and the new Youth contract (1-year term). She indicated that generally positive feedback had been received from the teams participating in fall tournaments (with an emphasis on the need to take fall ball seriously, as there was an issue with one game), and THSLL will not utilize the shot clock and dive rules for the upcoming season (although the new box size Rule will be utilized).

The Chair called upon Gene Brown, District 8 Director, for a NILOA report. Mr. Brown stated that more collegiate officials would be needed with the expansion of the Lone Star Alliance to a D3 level, and that interested officials should work on improving their game; as an aside. He mentioned that the Universities of Texas and Oklahoma have moved to the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference, and that new collegiate teams would be coming to Austin). He also recommended to all officials that we get in shape and work on our anticipatory skills for the upcoming season.

Bob Novak was requested by the Chair for an update on the website. Mr. Novak outlined the functions of the new website for the Membership.

Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association



The Chair called upon Mr. Windler, Treasurer, for his report. Mr. Windler reminded all that dues (\$50) were now payable; he discussed past and possible future usages for Members' dues. He also reviewed the finances of the Association.

The Chair stated that it was expected that the position of Youth Assignor would be formalized in the By-Law revision currently in process, and that nominations for such a position would be opened until 1 December 2019; said nominations to be emailed to Mr. Singer and the Chair. After announcing the nominees, voting would be open until 15 December 2019. Keith Denebeim moved to open nominations for the position; after a second, the motion as approved unanimously by voice vote.

The Chair announced his resignation as President to be effective on 1 January 2020 and stated that nominations to complete the unexpired portion of his term would be opened until 1 December 2019; said nominations to be emailed to Mr. Singer and the Chair. The Chair then entertained a motion (made by Mr. Denebeim, and seconded) to open nominations from the floor, which was approved unanimously by voice vote. Mr. Denebeim nominated Mr. Knight, and Mike Jackson nominated Donald Bull (who declined). No further nominations being made, the Chair closed nominations.

After brief closing remarks, the Chair entertained a motion to adjourn (Mr. Jackson); after a second, the motion carried by voice vote and the Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:15pm.

Ken Singer Executive Secretary

Attendees are appended below

Central Texas Lacrosse Officials Association



ATTENDEES

Dan Abbott Gene Brown Russ Bowen Donald Bull Rob Chambers

Bruce Clark Keith Denebeim Miguel Duron Miller Egan Scott Fairbairn

Angel Gonzales Richard Hunt Mike Jackson Jason Johnson Chris Knight Chris Mele Jeff Morrison Rud Nast Bob Novak Dan Page

Paul Policke Morgan Reece Rick Reyna Rick Schindel Ken Singer

Michael Snow Jared Valdez Brian Vanderglas Andrew Windler